you gave me your time, the most thoughtful gift of all

A couple weeks ago, my blog hit 1000 followers, so I wanted to take some time to say thank you. It really is incredible to think that there are so many people from all over world who take the time to actually read about my thoughts, beliefs and adventures, and it means so much to know that.

Some of y’all already know the story behind how my blog first got started, but it essentially  was first and foremost an assignment from my English III teachers, but in the three years since, it’s become so much more. I’ve always loved to write, though my writing career probably peaked and ended when I was seven. In 2015, I began publishing posts about my travels, recipes and food cravings, and my reactions to the current political situation as well as other issues. So I kept blogging, both for school and outside. My original blog name was Smiles and Kittens, but after I graduated high school, finally thought of a good blog name, and so in doing so, I realized that this blog has long since stopped being an assignment, but rather a joy.

With that said, I’d like to just share some of my blog’s memorable milestones.

Visitors & Followers

Like I said, just a couple weeks ago my blog hit 1000 followers (up to 1047 now!), and we’ve had over 10,508 people from 124 countries stop by the blog 30,796 times to read one of the 251 posts I’ve published. Thanks to every single one of y’all for stopping by.

Most Popular Posts

  1. MOST SWEET IT IS WITH UNUPLIFTED EYES

    I’m not entirely sure why this is my most popular post — it’s a blog assignment from English IV AP where I analyzed one of William Wordsworth’s poems. Perhaps other students struggling with poetry needed help analyzing it LOL.

  2. Grades are temporary, education is permanent

    Now this one I understand why it has so many views. Here’s my reflection about my high school academic life compared to my first semester of college, and just a couple observations I make & beliefs I hold about the education system. Definitey check out the comments section — quite a few students, teachers & parents weigh in too.

  3. The Welch Diaries

    This was one of my favorite posts to write. In the summer of 2015, I spent a month in Lubbock doing research as a part of the Welch Summers Scholars Program. I met some really great & smart people (actually, check out on my friend’s, Mal, blog right here) and had an absolute blast there!

  4. Never stop believing that fighting for what’s right is worth it

    Post-election day was hard for a lot of us, so here’s a post I wrote about dealing with our feelings and channeling them into doing something even better for our future.

  5. the earth has music for those who listen

    Here’s another topic that I’m really passionate about: climate change. Yes, it’s a pretty long post, but I think it’s one that’s very important and one that I wish everyone could take the time to read and understand.

Future Goals

I’d like to start making more weekly series, perhaps about food, music, or even the news. It’d also be cool to start collaborating with some of y’all later. Overall, I’m planning on sticking with my publication schedule of every three days. Let me know if there’s anything you’d like to see more of, and once again, thanks for reading! ❤

28 thoughts on “you gave me your time, the most thoughtful gift of all

  1. ebcteller says:

    Congrats, fam! You definitely deserve it for your hard work, and I think the collaboration thing is a great idea (hint hint wink wink).
    And don’t ever stop believing in your writing career! The peak years ago was just the activation energy for the first intermediate blog: I bet you’ve got a much bigger peak coming!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Moony says:

    Woah, congratulations on 1000 followers 😀 Personally, I really like the quirkiness and upbeat tone of a lot of your posts and that draws me to keep coming back to this blog. Keep on writing, and I hope to read more great stuff from you soon!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. noirerewritten says:

    Congrats on 1000 WordPress followers! I’m currently pushing and trying to make 500!! How long have you been a part of wordpress?

    Excited to see your future content! 
Come visit some time!
💗, Mena from noirerewritten.com

    Liked by 2 people

  4. rebbit7 says:

    Congratulations on 1000 follows! That feeling of hitting the four-digit mark is certainly elating, and you deserve it after coming this far in your blogging career. I’d love to see more travel posts of yours. Take care!

    Liked by 3 people

Let me know what you think!

