Sweet Tooth: Cake Mix Cookie Bars

I found this lil’ jewel of a website, Yummly; it’s basically Pinterest, except ONLY for food. Anyways, last night I realized I had a bunch of cake mix just lying around in my pantry (not entirely sure why?). But I wanted to do something more creative than, you know, cake, so I did a bit of research (and thus stumbled upon Yummly.) So here’s my attempt at Cake Mix Cookie Bars (which, my mom gave her stamp of approval, and if you know my mom, that’s really something…) 😛

  1. This recipe (adapted from Yummly) requires just four ingredients:
    • 2 eggs
      one box of cake mix 
      1 1/2 cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips
      1/2 cup applesauce
  2. In a bowl, beat eggs and then add the rest of the ingredients.
  3. Mix until combined into a thick batter.
  4. Grease a 9 X 13 baking dish, and spread batter thinly onto dish.
  5. Bake at 350 F for 25 minutes. We want the edges to be a lil’ hard but the centers to still be chewy and gooey!
  6. Cool and EAT! YES!
9 thoughts on “Sweet Tooth: Cake Mix Cookie Bars

  1. junejeong611 says:

    this looks amazing!!! you are so talented Annie, and it’s awesome that you keep up with your blog so well during the school year—idk how you do it! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • aliz97 says:

      haha thanks! Honestly it’s pretty hard to do, but keeping a blog definitely has been one of the best things that I’ve left HS with — hopefully you can keep up with yours; your posts are incredibly insightful and interesting!!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. namitha says:

    Yummy!

    It’s been a long time since I’ve seen your posts on my reader.. a fellow blogger told me that WordPress does that sometimes if you have followed a lot of blogs…

    I’m not sure whether you remember me… but just recently I posted a few plans I had for my blog… One of them included collaborating with other bloggers… the link to my post is right here: https://teenmemoir.com/2017/05/25/new-blogging-schedule-collaboration-call/

    I’m basically looking for people to collaborate with and I was wondering if you would be interested… do let me know if you are by replying to this comment or sending me an email teenmemoirwp@gmail.com

    Thanks
    Namitha

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think!

