Wanderlust: Jiuzhaigou (China) & Singapore

As I was sitting in my room, bored out of my mind and not quite yet ready to start studying physics, I decided to finally clean up my room/treasure-hunt in my closet. I found my old camera card from a few years ago, and there are some pretty interesting photos I took from my travels. Here are a few from China from a few summers back.

The Venice of China.

Jiuzhai Valley is locally known as Jiuzhaigou (Chinese for “Nine Village Valley”) and is a national park located in the Min Shan mountain range, Northern Sichuan in South Western China. The clear blue lakes in the pictures below are a defining characteristic of the park, which, in 1992, was declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The best thing is, no matter when you go visit, each season is stunningly beautiful with its own unique set of colors. China may be known for its heavy pollution in big cities, but its place like these that serve as constant reminders of our duty to protect nature’s precious gifts.

Later that summer, I stopped by Singapore for about a week. We stayed at Sentosa, an island-resort, and translates to peace and tranquility” in Malay. It’s a nice place if you ever go (very resort-y), and the food is a wonderful mix of Chinese-Singaporean flavors (to me, the food was probably the best part…then again, I’m such a food addict haha). Although the entire country’s not too big (714.3 square kilometres), it has a little bit of everything — large cities, small towns, beautiful beaches and island resorts. Singapore also has the southern-most point in Continental Asia, so we spent some time on the beach there. It’s also incredibly clean (the country has crazy fines though, for things like chewing gum, spitting or even passing gas in an elevator!). Would definitely recommend it if you ever get the chance to go!! 🙂

 

10 thoughts on “Wanderlust: Jiuzhaigou (China) & Singapore

Let me know what you think!

