I dream for a living (my ultimate travel bucket-list)

First semester of college is finally over (bless), and now that I’m back at home, sitting in my bed and watching The Crown, I’m reminiscing on all the wonderful places that I’ve had the opportunity to go to during the last few summer/winter/spring breaks. I realize that I won’t always have the opportunity to go with my parents and my brother on vacation anymore, so I’ve come up with my own ultimate travel list.

Without further ado, and in no particular order, are the 13 places I definitely have to visit at least once in my lifetime. (And if you’ve been to one of these places, let me know where I should stop by/things I should do and try!!) I would also have liked to write a small paragraph about why I chose these countries, but I realized 1) each country is just so wonderful that I could probably write about twenty pages for each place and 2) then that’d be too long for you guys, haha. Also, low-key cheating on here by listing like five different cities for each country, but anyways…

1. Peru (Lima & Machu Picchu)

Machu Picchu (photo from WanderingTrader.com)

Machu Picchu (photo from Wandering Trader)

2. Tanzania (Unguja, Zanzibar Archipelago & Arusha)

Unguja (photo from Mygola)

Unguja (photo from Mygola)

3. France (Paris, Nice, Marseille, Toulouse)

Paris (photo from Tourist Destinations)

Paris (photo from Tourist Destinations)

4. Mongolia (Ulaanbaatar & Khustain Nuruu National Park)

Khustain Nuruu (Photo from National Geographic)

Khustain Nuruu (Photo from National Geographic)

5. Italy (Rome, Venice, Milan, Florence)

Venice (photo from Average Janes)

Venice (photo from Average Janes)

6. Russia (Moscow, St. Petersburg, Sochi)

St. Petersburg (photo from Saint Petersburg)

St. Petersburg (photo from Saint Petersburg)

7. South Korea (Seoul, Busan, Jeju City)

Busan (photo from Sense Travel)

Busan (photo from Sense Travel)

8. Costa Rica (Monteverde, San Jose, Tamarindo)

Monteverde (photo from Rent a Car)

Monteverde (photo from Rent a Car)

9. South Africa (Capetown, Johannesburg, Soweto)

Soweto (photo from Fine Arts America)

Soweto (photo from Fine Arts America)

10.  Phillipines (Manila, Tagaytay, Boracay)

Boracay Beach (photo from Amazing Travels)

Boracay Beach (photo from Amazing Travels)

11. Greece (Athens, Mykonos, Kos)

Athens (photo from TripAdvisor)

Athens (photo from TripAdvisor)

12. United Arab Emirates (Dubai, Abu Dhabi, Kalba)

Dubai's UNDERWATER HOTEL CAN I PLEASE JUST LIVE HERE? (photo from Bloomberg)

Dubai’s UNDERWATER HOTEL HI CAN I PLEASE JUST LIVE HERE? (photo from Bloomberg)

13. Chile (Easter Island, Santiago, Castro)

Easter Island (photo once again from my home boi TripAdvisor how about you send me here plz & thnxs)

Easter Island (photo once again from my home boi TripAdvisor how about you send me here plz & thnxs)

So, as to when I’ll be able to start checking these off the list, I have no idea (probably in like, fifty years), but a girl can still dream, right? Anyways, let me know about YOUR ultimate travel bucket list!

52 thoughts on “I dream for a living (my ultimate travel bucket-list)

  1. joselynmiller says:

    Great list! (and beautiful photos) I hope you are able to visit all 13 and more! Travel is my favorite thing, and I, too, have a bucket list. My list contains travel things and non-travel things, but my #1 was to join the Travelers’ Century Club, a society comprised of peeps that have traveled to at least 100 countries. I just joined last year! Let me know if you have any questions or would like suggestions regarding travel! You can check out my list on my blog, too, for ideas πŸ™‚ Best of luck and never stop traveling!

    Liked by 1 person

    • aliz97 says:

      Wow, at least 100 countries — that’s so impressive! Thanks for stopping by, and I look forward to reading about your travels too! πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. RahulYuvi says:

    Wonderful Bucket list..But I must underline DUBAI..man ,the quantum of glitter & glamour is so huge that Dubai stays with you months after you return..The whole ambiance, backed by numerous Civil Engineering milestones ,is so wonderful that I could not sum up my Dubai experience in one blog and therefore had to write two ( Chapter 1 & 2)..nevertheless, thank you for giving me at least half of my own bucket list πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. reyiaenero says:

    Wonderful list ! Super nice of you to include the Philippines, though I would recommend going to Palawan instead of Boracay ( El Nido or Coron) as the beaches are more pristine. Though Boracay has an awesome nightlife. πŸ™‚ Hope you are able to visit the Philippines soon ! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Iloenchen says:

    I love that you included Mongolia in your list! Most people overlook that country and it’s so beautiful.
    If you want to go to Mongolia, you have two options. You can either pre-book a tour before you go there or stay at a hostel in Ulan Bator and book a tour through them. Travelling on your own is not an option! The country is too huge and in many parts, roads don’t exist. If you want to rent a car, you’ll have to rent a car with a driver and that gets expensive quickly. Besides, I loved having a Mongolian tour guide to tell me about the country and you’ll miss out on so much if you don’t.
    I pre-booked my tour with G Adventures and can highly recommend them. But I also met a group of backpackers who had organised their tour through a hostel so that’s possible, too.
    Good luck with that bucket list and never gibe up on Mongolia just because it seems more difficult than some other places. It’s so worth it!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Anj. says:

    If you visit Greece, you have to see Santorini; it was hands down the most beautiful place I’ve ever seen. Parts of Athens look very metropolitan, almost like an NYC or London. I was surprised at the diversity of the architecture and the wide range of styles.

    Congrats on your first semester!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. namitha says:

    3,5….*sigh*
    I’ve been to Dubai…but that was almost 5 years ago…it’s a wonderful place, was glad to see it in the list 😊
    I don’t remember much…but if u do visit, remember to go to Atlantis and Burj Khalifa…. and make sure u stay in Atlantis at least for a day…. there were other places, but my brain can’t remember any at the moment…πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  7. HelsinkiBudapest says:

    As a Parisian I can tell you from experience that Paris is a place you’ll either love or hate, but you will do either one of them with a passion. I’d definitely suggest walking around Montmartre, and explore the side streets around St. Michel. If you’re into art, my personal favorite is the MusΓ©e d’Orsay. And the fourth district. As for the usual tourist tips, yeah, do them, too, by all means.

    Venice was awesome. We only spent a day there, but it was out of this world. The first place where all the pictures you’ve bpseen don’t even do it half the justice it deserves. Remember overhearing an Italian girl telling her mom on the phone how this was the most beautiful city she’d ever been to, and everyone who overheard her just looked at her and started nodding to convey, “I know exactly what you mean.”

    Liked by 1 person

    • aliz97 says:

      thanks for the wonderful tips! Visiting art museums is definitely one of my favorite things to do, so I’ll have to check out the MusΓ©e d’Orsay. And wow, now I really have to go visit Venice, haha. Thanks again for the lovely description! πŸ™‚

      Like

  8. Daal says:

    have you been to Grand Canyon? Also, I loved France – rented a car & traveled, then just used mass transit for Paris – gorgeousness everywhere, plus wonderful food, especially best bread ever πŸ™‚

    can’t wait to hear about your travels!

    Like

  9. Rosie says:

    Of the spots on your list I’ve only been those in France. I’m not too enamoured with Paris (not entirely sure why, perhaps due to all the hype and it didn’t quite do it for me) but I love Marseille – a great base for exploring the surrounding region (the Calanques, Aix-en-Provence, Cassis etc.). Nice is nice (as they say!), though I preferred the sandy beach in Cannes; Toulouse is pretty, unusual too as the buildings are made of red brick, and worth doing a day trip to Carcassonne from there. I’d love to return to Japan and head north to Sapporo, New Zealand and Iceland are also pretty high up on my list!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Lyne says:

    That’s one cool list, lots of places there I hope to visit too and more ! You should add Mont Saint Michel and Alsace to France if you get the chance πŸ™‚ Also Santorini in Greece is great ! Hope you can make it

    Liked by 1 person

  11. rebbit7 says:

    Been to #3, 5, 6, and 11 on your bucket list. Paris is worth a visit in one’s lifetime. I love Marseille and besides visiting the city proper, take a day trip over to hike alone the jaw-dropping gorgeous calanques. Nice and Toulouse are pleasant, both only worth a day trip. It’s been over a decade since I’ve been to Rome, Florence, and Athens and would love to go back!

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think!

