a miracle that never stops amazing me

Thanksgiving’s always my favorite time of the year, because it has just the right combination of food, family, fun and fall!

food-bitch

Every year, my family hosts a big Thanksgiving dinner for my dad’s students, most of whom are international and don’t have a home to go to for the holidays. My mom will spend almost a week in advance preparing all the food, from the main dishes to dessert. We don’t really do the “traditional” Thanksgiving dinner of turkey, cranberry sauce and mashed potatoes; rather, my mom likes to incorporate her own style into the dinner, which is an amazing mix of (mostly) Chinese & American food. For a lot of the students, this is probably the most legitimate Chinese food they’ve had in a while, haha. ๐Ÿ™‚

Not sure when this family tradition began, but it’s definitely one of my favorite! This year, we had almost twenty people come, and it’s just such a lovely time to relax and talk with friends and family while enjoying homemade food.

Below are the dishes that my mom made this year (she likes to make sure there are different dishes each year). If I were to post the recipes below, that’d take up way too much space, but if one particular dish catches your eye, let me know and I can most certainly hook you up with the recipes; after all, I dare say my mom’s favorite thing (after cooking and watching people eat the things she’s cooked) is sharing her recipes and her love for food!

On another note, I’d like to take the rest of this time to say thanks. Thank you, to each and every one of my friends, my mom, my dad, my brother, all the amazing people that I’ve met at UT so far, and everyone who has managed to touch my life and make it all the more better. Y’all mean so much to me, and I wouldn’t be who I am today without you guys. But more importantly, THANK YOU and the rest of this blogging community, for being such an important part of my life, and for making my blogging journey all the more worth it. Just yesterday, my blog hit 98 countries, which is HALF THE NUMBER OF COUNTRIES IN THIS WORLD. That’s such a huge honor for me, and once again, thanks to everyone who has stopped by this year to read my blog. I LOVE YOU GUYS SO MUCH! โค

Hope y’all had an equally fun Thanksgiving! ๐Ÿ™‚

10 thoughts on “a miracle that never stops amazing me

Let me know what you think!

