Time spent with cats is never wasted

One of my favorite bloggers, Nyse, has nominated me for the Animal Series Tag, a tag meant to “to show how animals can be a source of inspiration, to help us through our difficulties and daily battles which we encounter as human beings.”

Now, if you’ve been with my blog for a while now, you’ll remember that All the Beautiful Times was not the first name of this blog; it was Smiles and Kittens, because those were (and still are) the two things that make me happiest. And if that doesn’t give you a hint as to what animal will be featured in this post, check out some of my other posts, like this one or this one, oh, and here’s another one.

So as your friendly neighborhood cat lady, I’ll dedicate this post (along with, like, 73% of my blog) to my favorite animal in the world: CATS.

Anyways, rules first though:

  1. 1. Thank the person who nominated you
    2. Pick an animal and explain why they are a source of 
    inspiration to you.
    3. Nominate at least 3 other bloggers, to share the positivity!

With that out of the way, let’s take some time to appreciate these furballs.

People often compare cats and dogs to each other, noting that the former are usually much more introverted, laid back and seemingly unenthusiastic. For some, cats seem to lack both the empathy and cuteness of, say, a dog, and that turns them away from cats. Some even think that cats are constantly scheming our demise, and that they embody suspicion and evil.

PAUSE. REWIND. BRUH, DON’T EVEN. HAVE YOU SEEN A CAT? HAVE YOU PERSONALLY GOTTEN TO KNOW ONE? (okay, this is why they call me crazy cat lady.)

But for real, cats are the best. They’re just furballs of love and cuteness, and every time I see on, I get so, so happy. Like, happy from the bottom of my heart. They’re always so calm and collected, unless you randomly place a cucumber next to them.

Now, I agree that they’re also 100% lazy, and you’d think that’s not the best reason why an animal should be so inspirational to someone. But at the same time, you look at how busy the world is around you, and think of all the things that you have to do, and you begin to realize how wonderful it is to take a step back, relax and recollect yourself.

And that’s what cats truly embody — just pure content-ness, relaxation and enjoyment of the wonders of life. That’s what truly makes me love cats so much (and also, they’re cute. Just looking at them makes me forget about how bad I did on the calc test this morning and will maybe allow me to forgive the prof for sneakily changing the limits on one of the answer choices that otherwise would have been right to just screw over college kids’ lives…JK BUT NOT REALLY.)

Before I forget, here are my nominations:

Namitha @ TeenMemoir
Samuditha @ Dream Doodle Draw
FarahEdz @ The Girl With Coffe

If you’re still not convinced by their amazingness, here’s my favorite vine ever. And if you’re already convinced, well, you deserve a treat too:

8 thoughts on “Time spent with cats is never wasted

  1. Nyse says:

    Loved this post so much, who even made up the whole story that cats are synonymous with evil? And better to be called a ‘crazy cat lady’ than a cat hater. Wow, all the humour and insightfulness required for a rainy British morning was found here. Thanks awesome cat-lover!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The Mew Life / EatingWellNYC says:

    yay for another cat lover!

    I admit I was totally a dog person (even though I never had one) until I got my cat.

    “And that’s what cats truly embody — just pure content-ness, relaxation and enjoyment of the wonders of life.” so true and what I want my journey and blog to embody – the mew life 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think!

