New York Times: ‘By the Book’ tag

The wonderfully amazing Nyse has nominated me for the NYT “By the Book” tag, so here we go!

booktag_nyt

  1. What Was The Last Truly Great Book You Read?

The last truly great book? As in the one that truly touched my soul and made me reevaluate my life, haha? That’d be James Duncan’s The River Why. I’ve actually written a post about it here if you’re curious, but damn, that book is one heck of a beautiful and amazing book. If I ever recommended someone read any book, it’d be this book.

2. If you could meet a writer, any writer-dead or alive-who would it be? And what would you want to know?

I’m not one who has a favorite author; I just sort of read books based on reviews, recommendations or if the summary on the inside cover sounds interesting. So, I don’t really know who I’d want to meet, but if I could meet up with an author, I’d like to hear their story (as in, what got them into writing, their inspiration for the book, etc).

3. If you could require the president to read one book what would it be?

Hmm…if it were President Obama, I’d probably recommend him reading Zen and the Art of Motorcyle Maintenance. As for potential future presidents, I’d probably ask Hillary to read Olive Kitteridge by Elizabeth Strout, and if Trump ever wins, I’d require him to read Let the Great World Spin by Colum McCann.

4. How do You Organize Your Personal Library?

I’ve tried to organize everything by author’s last name, but since I’ve never been good at keeping things neat and organized (and I like to just occasionally grab books out of the shelves to reread again), I’m not sure it has any organization to it anymore.

5. What Book Do You Feel You Were Supposed To Like But Didn’t?

Was not a huge fan of Catcher in the Rye by J. D. Salinger…it just kind of…ended with no real closure, and I also didn’t particularly like the main character.

6. What Book Have You Always Meant to Read, But Haven’t Gotten To Yet?

I have yet to get to Anthony Doerr’s All The Light We Cannot See, because so many friends, on individual occasions too, have recommended it to me. Seems like the reviews for the book are also pretty stellar, but I just haven’t made the time for it (I mean like, I EVEN BOUGHT THE BOOK!)

7. What kind of stories are you drawn to? Any you stay clear of?

I read anything, really. Anything that’s well-written, but maybe I’m also biased against grocery store romance novels…sorry Nora Roberts…

8. What Do You Plan to Read Next?

Oh man, my to-read is wayyy too long. Let’s see, we have:

1) Anthony Doerr’s All The Light We Cannot See
2) Joshua Ferris’s And Then We Came to the End
3) Donna Tartt’s The Goldfinch
4) Barbara Kingsolver’s The Poisonwood Bible
5) Adam Johnson’s Fortune Smiles
6) Marina Keegan’s The Opposite of Loneliness: Essays and Stories
7) Junot Diaz’s The Brief and Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao

and really, the list goes on and on and on, but I’ll save you some time and wrap it up with just seven, haha 🙂

9. Nominations

Finally, I’d like to nominate:
1) Megan @ bookslayerReads
2) Sascha Darlington
3) The Book Raven 

Looking forward to reading what y’all have to say!

6 thoughts on “New York Times: ‘By the Book’ tag

Let me know what you think!

