3-day Quote Challenge (day 1): the yardstick of happiness

Namitha over at TeenMemoir nominated me for the 3-day quote challenge, which I’m incredibly excited to take part in!

For my first quote, I’m choosing one by Paramahansa Yogananda. He was an Indian yogi and guru who, through his book titled Autobiography of a Yogi, introduced millions of westerners to the teachings of meditation and Kriya Yoga.

Success is not rightly measured by wealth, prestige and power. Success is measured by the yardstick of happiness. Paramahansa Yogananda

This quote is one that I look at a lot, particularly these past few days. My transition to college has been a little rough, to say the least. And after failing my first two chem midterms, almost failing my bio and calc midterms, I’ve had some trouble finding positivity around me. Just a couple days ago, I attended a panel discussion called “Deconstructing Prestige,” where various professors, lectures and researchers discussed this idea of prestige and its relationship to our happiness. It resonated with my high school experience, which was one that was extremely focused on grades and one that was extremely competitive, pitting students and friends against each other on this thing called a GPA “ranking system.”

I mentioned all this to one of my high school friends, and I told her to not be so focused on these things that really don’t define you at all, and to find happiness in the things that you do. I thought I had managed to step back far enough to fully distance myself from these ideas of prestige, success and grades. But these ideas have been so deeply ingrained that it only took two failing grades to get me back in the same boat I was in junior year: depressed and crying on my bed.

So these past couple days, I’ve decided to get a breath of fresh air. I’ve talked with some friends I haven’t talked to in a while, I walked around campus, I went to go get groceries, and each night, I remind myself that what’s important is that at the end of the day, I’m a better and hopefully happier person than I was the day before. Because that’s true success.

As for my nominees:

Whiskey Sour Wayfarer

On Another Coast

The Finicky Cynic

13 thoughts on “3-day Quote Challenge (day 1): the yardstick of happiness

  1. Mrs. Lady Renaissance says:

    Transitions are often difficult, especially when entering the college discourse. You will do amazing! You simply need to get in the hang of things and it will work out. Also, if possible, start off with the minimum amount of units, while still making it full time, so you aren’t overwhelmed. Remember, “this too shall pass” and this will, one day, be a point of reference to inspire others. Here are a few quotes that always help me:
    “Far better is it to dare mighty things, to win glorious triumphs, even though checkered by failure… than to rank with those poor spirits who neither enjoy nor suffer much, because they live in a gray twilight that knows not victory nor defeat.”–Theodore Roosevelt,
    “Do not be embarrassed by your failures, learn from them and start again.”
    –Richard Branson,
    “You are capable of more than you know. Choose a goal that seems right for you and strive to be the best, however hard the path. Aim high. Behave honorably. Prepare to be alone at times, and to endure failure. Persist! The world needs all you can give.”–E. O. Wilson.
    It is horrible that the educational system is focused on GPA over actual student learning and the enjoyment process in learning, but don’t get caught up in the grind. You will do well! Just get the ball rolling and each quarter or semester will proceed with ease. Also, don’t look at it as a whole, tackle one thing at a time.

    Liked by 1 person

    • aliz97 says:

      Thank you so much for taking the time to write out such a thoughtful and inspirational response! It means a lot to me, and thanks again for sharing these quotes with me! ❤

      Like

  2. Invisibly Me says:

    A fab quote, and something to live by. 21st Century culture has really warped our sense of success and achievement, making us feel more anxious, like failures who can’t measure up with things that are so transient and limiting, from work and money, to the things you own. To be in yourself and your life just as it is, is a hard task when you’re so focused on these other things, but it’s the most meaningful measure of success. Thanks for sharing ❤

    Caz
    http://www.invisiblyme.com

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Audrey says:

    Thanks for sharing the quote. It too reminded me to focus on what makes me happy. This reminds me of what Steve Jobs said, “Your time is limited, so don’t waste it living someone else’s life.” Stay happy 😊

    Liked by 2 people

  4. The Wayfarer says:

    It’s true, we all have to find our own way to measure our satisfaction and happiness with our own accomplishments and lives… trying to live by society’s is a recipe for failure, because no one can live up to all those expectations.
    Thanks for the nomination! I’m clearly a bit behind on these things… I’ll get to it ASAP!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. namitha says:

    Wow! Who says you aren’t positive?! I know how it feels when u have done bad on a test and how you feel like giving up…but honestly, it takes a lot of courage to come out of the depression and start trying to live life again…its awfully difficult, and you have done it! So be proud of yourself, you are amazing…😊

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think!

