Liebster Award #2: Thanks!

It’s taken me way too long to get to this, but thank you Domestic Diva for nominating me for my second Liebster Award. You’re too sweet! 🙂 Definitely check out her blog if you haven’t had the chance to, because it’s absolutely amazing.

liebster

The Rules

1. Write a post to show your award
2. Acknowledge the blogger that nominated you
3. Give a brief story of why you started blogging
4. Give advice to your fellow bloggers
5. Nominate a few bloggers for the award
6. Leave a comment to let the nominated bloggers know about the award

Why I Started Blogging:

I began this blog two years ago, the fall of 2014, because the junior English teachers decided to try giving us weekly assignments through blog posts, so that we would have more experience in expressing our thoughts (in a casual setting). I remember sitting there while my friends came up with great blog names (see Name in the Wind or The Odd Hope). When my friends asked me what I liked most, I said ‘smiles’ and ‘kittens’ (still true) and so my old blog name became thus: Smiles and Kittens. (I did get a lot of traffic from poor cat lovers who accidentally stumbled upon my blog in search for cute cat videos–which, to be fair, I did have some).

That first year (or, half a year), my blog was read 1800 times by people from 16 different countries. And that’s when I realized the potential this blog had, and more importantly, that I had. I could touch the lives of those around the world just from my computer screen and through my words. Most of my works and writing have only ever been viewed by my close friends, family and teachers, but here, the world could see it. So I decided, “Hell yes. I’m going to make this blog into MY blog.”

Advice:

I’m not going to tell you how to blog here, because each person has their own way of blogging. But blogging, to me, is about making a difference. Whether it’s just another travel post, food recipe or a thought on the political situation, know that your voice is being heard worldwide. So be yourself, and let your thoughts out, because in this blogging community, you matter. On that note, listen to what others have to say, too. Stop by a few blogs and say hi, because what makes the blogging world a community is our compassion and love for each other — for each other’s ideas, beliefs and happiness.

You get an award! You get an award! Everyone gets an award!

If I could, I would nominate everyone’s blog I follow for an award. Unfortunately, that would be over 500, so I’ve narrowed it down to just seven. Check them out, because they’re definitely worth it. Here, in no particular order, are some really, really good blogs! 🙂

GYPSYBUS28

Mongoals

On Another Coast

The Inquisitive Writer

The Kikaywanderer

Jessica Chang

Whiskey Sour Wayfarer

 

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “Liebster Award #2: Thanks!

Let me know what you think!

