A gift, a privilege, a voice

My writing career blossomed during my younger years, culminating in a ten-page story about a little girl finding a little jar that held a secret world she could escape to. Yeah…I don’t know how either, but my seven-year-old self thoroughly enjoyed writing short stories to read to the family at dinnertime. Over time, my writing life has sort of faded away, largely due to a lack of time (read: too much time spent on Buzzfeed) and an overabundance of homework.

Thus, a good portion of my writing life lies within my diary, a green, leathery book that I keep under my pillow. Writing in my diary every night allows me to clear my mind before I went to sleep. Junior year was especially rough, and there were often times I would ask myself what I was doing with my life, with waking up at 7 am and going to bed at 3 am, and how that affected my social life, my health and my happiness. I would scribble down some decently meaningful and philosophical ideas about life, question the meaning of life, and after each entry, feel as if I had finally figured out everything (only to wake up four hours awake, confused and stressed again…). But still, writing was like meditating to me; I could momentarily step away from reality and look at myself from the outside. Writing kept me sane.

Today, I’m nowhere as busy as I was last year, so my diary entries have slowly declined in number. Still, I’ve found that writing allows me to really self-reflect and meditate on the events not just affecting me, but everyone around the world. Every once in a while, I’ll update this blog with a post that I’ve written in the heat of the moment, such as the time news headlines got me riled up or when Oklahoma tried to ban APUSH.

If I’m passionate enough about the subject, I’ll write about it; nonetheless, if I were to focus on one subject, I’d like to write more on current events and people. People sounds generic, but to me, focusing on people rather than pure politics and other “headline-selling” factors allows us to see different cultures as they truly are, without the lenses of violence or cultural stereotypes. As for current events, it seems that everyone has a vague idea of what’s going on, but no one really cares. By combining current events with the people directly affected, I want to bring people together; I want to foster change and action with my writing, and even without the large platforms of national news organizations, I’m glad to have that opportunity through this blog.

Hopefully, this year, I’ll be able to focus on these topics as well as continue my diary. After all, as Amy Tan once said, “Writing is an extreme privilege but it’s also a gift. It’s a gift to yourself and it’s a gift of giving a story to someone.”

 

2 thoughts on “A gift, a privilege, a voice

  1. whatlifeimitates says:

    I really like the realization of writing as a privilege and a gift. Indeed, be able to write presupposes literacy, which, while it is becoming thankfully more and more common, is still a gift that many do not have. Writing is one mode of art that, with the rise of the internet and texting, has become one of the most common forms (art is literally everywhere humans are though, so…). Writing, as a journalist, certainly, would shape the world, just as a blogger you are now.

    Like

Let me know what you think!

