Are fortune cookie quotes real?

I think so. Last week, I went to a Chinese restaurant, and naturally, grabbed a fortune cookie on the way out. After eating it, I read the slip of paper inside.

You'll meet a long lost friend very soon.

Since I was about to leave for Welch, a summer chemistry camp at Texas Tech, I figured it might hold some truth to it, so I just kind of stuck it onto my bed counter and just stowed it at the back of my mind…

Fortune-cookie-shutterstock_102354181.jpg

Just today, the eight of us from camp were sitting together, watching Mean Girls. I sent a friend request to everyone there, and all of a sudden, one guy asked, “You know so-and-so and so-and-so?” I told him yes, that we had gone to the same math camp back in eight grade (Yes…I’m a nerd…)

“Mathworks?” he asked. “Yep,” I answered. “I was there too! In eighth grade? I was there.” he said.

Wow. Just, wow. I had a feeling that something like this would happen, but I thought it was just me being whimsical-me. Here I was, five years later at a camp in Texas Tech (the math camp was in San Marcos), and I actually knew one of the kids here….(maybe we weren’t exactly friends…but still).

Guess fortune cookies like to tease us once in a while with a little bit of truth, always keeping us on the edge of magic. Has anything similar ever happened to you?

 

Let me know what you think!

